top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureallisonfedor

26 Hours Early


Guess where I'm writing from?

If you said Israel because yesterday I wrote that in a matter of hours I'd be leaving for Asia, then you're wrong. But it's not your fault. I lied to you... I'm sorry. It's a pretty funny story though...

Never in my entire 18 years of traveling have I done what I did last night. But am I really that surprised? Okay, yes, I am still unable to believe that it happened, but less shocked than you might expect, because adventure and I always seem to encounter one another. So what happened?

If you figured out based on the title of this post, and everything I've said till this point, that I showed up at the Madrid Airport 26 hours early for my flight to Tel Aviv, then you are indeed correct! Congratulations! hahahahah

Last night my friend and his friend took me to the airport, I hid my backpack off to the side so they wouldn't see it and make me weigh it, then I go to the counter to check in myself and my suitcase. The woman tells me she can't find my reservation, and I start to feel worried. But not too much, because I'd seen it online earlier that day, so I know it exists. She tells me to go talk to the woman at the ticket counter, and after a moment the woman tells me, "It's because your flight is tomorrow..." OMG.

I don't even know how many flights I've caught in my life, but I have NEVER mistaken my departure day before. Never, ever, ever, ever, ever. I've only ever accidentally missed one flight in my life, which is quite the accomplishment considering how many I ran for in my year studying abroad. This is what happens when someone books my flight for me. Or when I don't know what day it is, because I have overly-emerged my mind in "Vacation Mode". Either way, it happened.

She said I could leave that night for only 50€ more, but first I needed to find out what day my grandma, mom, and sister were arriving. I thought maybe my grandma had made a mistake when she'd got the flight, and I was going to be arriving a day after them. (Something that could easily happen, because while I love her dearly, my grandmother is a little scattered. Sorry gma if you read this, you rock no matter what!) I was really tempted to pay the money and just get myself to Tel Aviv already, but in the end, my mom preferred me not to go on ahead of them. And thankfully, my friend and his friend came back to get me.

It all turned out in my favor, really, naturally, of course, because I was able to learn that my suitcase was 2 kilos overweight, which would have cost me 100€ (50/kilo) at check-in, and after talking for a while about different options with the woman at the ticket counter (upgrades, suitcases, etc), she ended up reserving my seats for my two flights tonight in the emergency aisle at the window! Toma! (Take that!) God works everything out for the best. Always! (Thank You!)

Now I can truthfully say that in a matter of hours I'll be flying to Israel! Hehe. I leave for the airport soon, and am going to try to be sneaky with my backpack so they don't see it. Prayers and successful energy, please! A veces hay que hacer cosas diferentes aunque no sean "correctas".. pero esque no quiero/puedo pagar 50€ x 6 kilos y "necesito" todas las cosas que tengo en la mochila. A ver que pasa.. Pero yo creo que todo va a salir genial! Siempre es asi! ;)

Next time I write you, I actually will be writing from Israel. Pray for safe travels for my family, the group and I, and all Earthlings in general! Thank you!

Blessings, Love, Light & Wonder to all,

Allie-Sun <3

Recent Posts

See All

Traveling to Tulum (From Cancun)

This is exactly the kind of post I always hope to find when I Google "travelling to _____ from ______." The kind that I can never find, or if I do, it's outdated from ten years before. So, I'm going t

bottom of page