top of page
Search
  • Allie From Cali

Sleeping In a Shipping Container - Eco Chic Hotel Life with ADD Adventures

Tonight I find myself in Tulum, Mexico, on the coveted, amazing, breath-taking Mayan Riviera. And instead of some bad and boujee, all white, private pool'd little villa, that is decorated in a simplistic and modern way, I am sitting in a shipping container, on a queen-sized bed, and a brightly colored striped blanket. With plenty of space to spare! (Ypga mat is always happy when there's a place for her to lay in the morning!)

Welcome to ContainME, the Eco Chic Hotel!

Avenida Tulum Entre Calle Pino Suarez y Quinta Avenida Sur, Tulum, QR, 77780 Mexico

I found the place on Priceline this afternoon as I was about to get on the bus to Tulum, and it looked like a pretty sweet spot. It had all the right hype words, a nice look, and fits into my Eco Chic style. Also, unlike most of the places in and around Tulum that aren't hostels (which are all nearly fully booked during these days because of the holidays), it didn't cost +$100.

Now, I'll be honest, I'm at a point in my life where I'm working really hard, and making pretty dang good money. So to drop a hundred or more on a place to sleep isn't the end of me, but the backpacker in me still finds it really hard to accept. I splurge every once in a while on accommodations these days, but if I'm traveling alone, I generally will go less chic. (Rather spend it on massages and fine dining, or save it to invest for my future!) I was supposed to stay tonight in the formerly described place from my intro lines, but they had an issue in their system, and it turned out they were actually fully booked when Priceline sent me my confirmation email. In the end, as thing always do as long as you choose to see them this way: it worked out!

Back in my hippie threads after enduring a Bostonian little winter

For some reason, the first, no joke, 16 times I was searching for places online to stay in Tulum, ContainME didn't show up (probably had a cancellation). But as soon as I saw it on the list, and for only $70ish (comes out to about $90 with the taxes), I jumped on it and confirmed my stay!

The Eco Chic Hotel is small, with maybe up-to-ten containers to house people. Each that I've seen has a queen-sized bed, significant amount of open space at the foot of the bed, and a small bathroom. There's WiFi that works well enough for me to blog, a beautiful and calm little central garden, and a few hosts that are just the sweetest things you'll ever meet. It is just off the highway, so you hear the passing cars, but each container is equipped with A/C, so sleeping with the windows and doors closed is no problem at all. Also a necessary perk for later in the year when the temps are much higher! And lastly, they have bikes to rent, which cost 80$MXN (about, with the exchange rate at ~19.5:1 where it is today, $4 for 24 hours. LOL, not bad.).

There are cenotes (swimming holes) and a lagoon within five kilometers, too, so it's a great place to trip from for some adventure, which I'll experience tomorrow morning. The beach is a little further away, about 20 minutes walking, and the center is about 10-15 on foot, but to take a cab costs about $5 (100$MXN), so it still makes it cheaper than many of the other options around town.

All in all, I am very pleased with the place, and absolutely enamored with their initiatives to be environmentally friendly and reduce, reuse, and recycle! So if you're in Tulum and looking for an off-beat place to stay, swing on through ContainME and get your Eco Chic on! :)

Find it on all the major booking sites!

Have a blessed and beautiful babies! As always, sending Blessings, Love, Light and now, FOCUS! Time to make 2018 great! <3

-AllieSun from CaliSun

Recent Posts

See All

Traveling to Tulum (From Cancun)

This is exactly the kind of post I always hope to find when I Google "travelling to _____ from ______." The kind that I can never find, or if I do, it's outdated from ten years before. So, I'm going t

bottom of page